Durham Elementary Squishy Circuits Workshop

On November 13, 2014, I presented my second Squishy Circuits workshop at another Title 1 school in the Fremont Unified School District. Durham’s science lab teacher graciously allowed me to present my workshop in the science lab during a school period. With about thirty 4th grade students and only 45 minutes of time available, the workshop was a bit rushed, but was still a success. For the first 15 minutes of the workshop, I went over the basics of circuits and electricity, and the basic concept of Squishy Circuits. Then, for the last 30 minutes of the workshop, after distributing the kits with all the circuit material,  the kids worked in their lab groups building Squishy Circuits. They definitely were enjoying it, experimenting with the different types of dough and thinking of cool circuit designs to build.

Though I had to miss some of my school time for this workshop, it was most definitely worth it as I was able to get more children involved in hands-on science. Keep a heads up for my next workshop on Friday, December 12, at the Union City Library at 4 PM.

 

Leave a Reply

